Some people think that zoos are cruel and all zoos should be closed. However, some people think zoo can help protect animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

There is no doubt that zoological gardens play an important role to preserve wild species. However, while some believe that they pose a threat to animals and they should be shut down, I believe with those who argue that zoos are establishments that protect them. To begin with, wildlife sanctuaries are unethical places. This is because a plethora of wild mammals are kept in cages all day long rather than spending time in their natural habitats. This means that zoos frequently offer little room for them to enjoy their freedom in total autonomy. Besides, animals parks sometimes jeopardize the welfare of many specimens. As they tend to live by their own, this environment is highly likely to put their well-being at stake, thus increasing their feeling of isolation and boredom. Neverthless, zoos can benefit animals in many ways. For instance, animal activists protect endangered species from wildlife trafficking. Considering that poaching is an illegal trade, zoologists do their utmost to prevent animals from being attacked, injured and killed by such predators. Another significant advantage of zoos is that vets and scientists could make research on the spread of certain viruses that animals might carry. If such epidemy is tackled rapidly thanks to scientific analysis, this would mitigated the spread of hazardous diseases, therefore protecting a wide range of species. To conclude, although zoos are considered as cruel places for they lack of empathy and care with regards to their residents, it is of a critical importance to keep them open as it enables many species to feel protected and healthy.