The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

Multifarious people opine that the working days in a week need to be shortened so that workers could spend more time at the weekend. There are many arguments for and against this issue. I entirely support this view and will try to support my thinking in this essay. Firstly, the 5-day working week cycle does not hold the same standard as before. What I mean by this is that even though the recommended rule of thumb is 5 days of work followed by 2 days of rest, few companies obey this rule. As a result of overtime and working on Saturday, the overall productivity plummeted. There have been countless studies on this matter, and the overall sentiment is that more time spent working does not equate to more productivity. Another matter is that fatigue leads to carelessness, which in turn leads to costly mistakes, some of which outweigh the benefit of working more hours. Management positions nowadays suffer the most from this problem. Secondly, a healthy worker leads to more willingness to contribute. Overall turnover rate has skyrocketed over the last couple of years since the Covid pandemic, and the most popular reason lies in the working environment, which has become overbearing in trying to regain the momentum post-Covid. A more extended weekend would solve both of the previously mentioned issues. Looking into another side of the matter, life is not all about working; a person has a family, kids to feed, and a house to return to. An extended weekend would enable people to spend more time with families and do things they find important. It is such a shame as it is now that the average person has to calculate some of the most important events in their life in the gaps of the working week, for example, marriage, connecting to relatives, etc. Overall, the pros of increasing the overall productivity, minimising mistakes and enjoying more of one's life support the statement that the working week should be shorter and workers should have a more extended weekend immensely. There have been many successful cases in other countries, such as Sweden, which has shortened to 4 working days with one more rest day in between, and Denmark, which has heavily promoted flexible work hours. This is a positive change, not only from everything above, but also places heavy emphasis on the well-being of a person in the modern day.