Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people believe that to overcome the problem of traffic and pollution, the best solution is to increase the price of fossil fuel. I agree with this notion as money is the biggest factor for anyone to consider for transportation along with that there are many other measures to overcome that which I will discuss in this further essay. To begin with, the price of petrol is directly related to using private vehicles. Therefore, if the price increase then usage of the personal vehicle reduce automatically as they both are inversely proportional to each other. To exemplify, many middle-class people use their own car or bike to their work because they can easily manage the cost, but if the price increase then people must go for public transportation. However, there are many other factors that are also be effective to reduce traffic congestion and air pollution, like improving the public transportation facility. If the government provide the best services of general bushes in every town then many people use that facility for their day to day transportation and it will gradually decrease the issue of traffic. Moreover, the government can also introduce public vehicles which use electricity or CNG gas instead of fossil fuel which will be beneficial for reducing air pollution. To cite an example, The Gujrat government introduce BRTS buses in Ahmedabad town which has a separate path and use CNG gas, therefore it has shown a major effect on reducing traffic and pollution in the town. In conclusion, it is evident that traffic and pollution are the biggest challenges for any town nowadays and increasing the price of fuel will directly beneficial to overcome that but there are also other options available on which government ought to work along with previous one.