Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Computers and their applications have a huge impact on our daily lives because of their utmost benefits. In the past, it was difficult to store and retrieve information and papers were used widely for this purpose. In this contemporary world, information technology has made one's life easy both at work and home. There are some disadvantages of IT which are related to the memorization skills of people, but overall I believe the benefits are completely outweigh its demerits. One of the main advantages of information technology is the storage of information. Not only one can store information on computers, phones and the like, but one can also access the data from anywhere in the world. This is mostly done by cloud storage which is an internet based system and stores information online for unlimited time. Furthermore, the process of uploading and downloading any data is not time-consuming because of the fast internet services around the globe. Therefore, not only information technology is used by professionals but also individuals use this for their daily chores. For example, women write down their notes on the phone for grocery items, adults track their daily exercise routine through various apps on the phone and businesses store their invoices on the computer. Moreover, people do not have to memorize information anymore due to technology. This is the other benefit of information technology as all their information and data is just one click away. However, there are some arguments that because of this the skill of an individual to memorise something has affected us because too much relaxation to the brain leads to memory problems. However, this can be achieved by various means such as playing computer games, exercises, cardboard games and the like. Furthermore,there are some concerns regarding the privacy of the data which can be solved by strong passwords. In conclusion, there are many benefits of information technology including storage and easy access to data from anywhere in the world. In my opinion, the benefits of IT has completely outweighed its disadvantages as the overall impact of IT is positive in our lives.