Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the idea of taking a break for one year before starting university for the purpose of travelling or to gain work experience is becoming increasingly popular. Some people believe that this experience outside the academic environment has a positive effect on the individual and I strongly concur. This essay would be discussing these effects and cite relevant examples. Life in secondary school is usually overwhelming for some people, from the pressure of getting high grades to that of living a balanced life, all these take a toll on many young people hence, the need to take some time off to relax. Firstly, the main advantage of taking some time off before going into tertiary education is that it allows the person to make an informed decision about the career path to follow. After secondary school, many young adults do not know what they really want to do as they were more occupied with passing all their exams and probably coping with peer pressure. Additionally, secondary education offers a lot of choices from history, biology, arts, languages to computing consequently making it more difficult to choose. A time off from school allows the individual to relax and explore all available options before deciding on the next steps to take without being under any pressure, moreover in the cause of relaxation one may discover true passion. Secondly, a year outside the academic environment offers an individual the opportunity to gain meaningful work experience which would eventually be an added benefit while looking for employment in the future. In recent times, employers have become more consistent with asking for work experience as a prerequisite to getting a job. For example, to get a job interview with the national health service in the UK, one needs to have acquired some experience in the health sector, so taking a break provides that experience which puts one ahead of other job seekers as well as offers a deeper understanding of the anticipated job. In conclusion, it is becoming a trend among young adults to take a year break between the end of secondary education and the commencement of university. I completely agree that this is a positive idea because it helps them to make a better decision about their next steps in life as well as gain relevant work experience for the future.