With the pressures on today's young people to succeed academically, some people believe that non-academic subjects at school (eg: physical education and cookery) should be removed at the syllabus so that children can concentrate wholly on academic subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, parents and teacher put pressure on students to be excellent in academics and to be at the top of the class and find non-academic subjects like sports and arts less relevant part of child's education so they want this out of the institute curriculum. In my,opinion both should be of equal values and they should focus on this part so they can have more career options. Sportsman and Art major develop an attitude towards their fields from childhood onwards so if these subjects are not part of school offering they may never know if they are interested in this area for there further. If someone wants to take a cooking or being a chef is their career from them academic will be of less importance and should focus on their cooking-related skills rather than an academic area. If only academic focus is given early in their life then our future generations may not be interested in creative career paths. For example, a friend of mine was a State winner in Basketball but his family focus on him quitting it because they wanted him to focus on this boards exam, he could have been international player one day but due to peer, the pressure he had to shift his focus area. On the other hand, children should be given the exposure to every subject out there so they can explore all the options and can choose their main path out of it. With, this they can also know what the world has to offer out there. They can learn basic skills and get their life going. If they want to go to high education like college or master this will help them a lot. It can also help people to go up the social cycle because with more education more options for jobs will be available to them. To conclude, the school should assign every hour a day to arts and sports so they can get time to relax and put all the effort into academics.