The animal species are becoming extinct due to human activities on land and in sea. What are the reasons and solutions?

We have seen various articles stating how some animals have changed over the recent decades in shapes and sizes, how some of them have been categorised as endangered species and how some of them have totally disappeared. One significant reason that is threatening animals is pollution and we have to follow the 3Rs to lessen it. Pollution is causing serious harm to the animals that live on land as well as in water. Various activities that we do unconsciously are contributing to air pollution, soil pollution and water pollution. As a result, it poisons the food that animals feed on or worsens their habitat. For example, the insecticide that is used in farming is made of harmful chemicals. When it is spread on the crops, the residue, that still contains poisonous chemicals, seeps into the soil. It gets into the underground water network and flows into streams and rivers and pollutes the water where various fishes live. It causes genetic changes to the aquatic animals or even kills them ultimately, causing extinction. Reducing, reusing and recycling can help to reduce pollution effectively. Environmental activists are campaigning people to follow this 3Rs rule to save animals and humans alike. For instance, we have seen the increased use, or rather, overuse of plastic in the past few years, as it is widely available at extremely economical prices. As a result, we have seen photos of aquatic animals as well as land animals that consume these plastic bags in search of food which eventually lead them to their dead as it cannot be digested. If we could replace the use of plastic bags with either biodegradable paper bags or reusable cotton bags, we will not need to throw them into the sea. To summarise, a key factor contributing to the extinction of some animal species is pollution. If we start to take this matter seriously and put in our best effort to tackle this problem, I strongly believe that we could save the helpless animals from extinction.