Over the past fifty years, international sports events such as Olympic games and world cup competition have played an increasing important role in our society. However, many people think such events are an enormous waste of money, time and effort. Do you agree?

Sport is one of the most important physical activities which has increased in its popularity over the past fifty years. Olympic games and other international competitions were held subsequently to emphasize its essential role in society. However, some people think that a significant amount of money, time, and effort are wasted on such events. In my opinion, I disagree with the idea and think that there are many advantages of organizing sports tournaments. There are many groups of people that can benefit from participating in sports events. To begin with, the athlete is the most obvious example. If there is no competition, there will be no incentive for athletes to practice hard in order to win the title. Also, most people easily get inspired to exercise by watching the sport they enjoy. As a result, they may stop exercising, leading to a bad health condition, if there is no motivation for them. Next, sports businesses also gain a huge profit from selling sports equipment and facilities. It is also this profit that supports the expense of athletes and provides them with sports facilities without charges. Not only huge companies but also local businesses are in favour of taking part in the events. In other words, most of the merchandise inside the tournament stadium comes from the local store, giving them additional revenue. In addition, the government also benefits from a stronger international connection, which results from a collaboration between each government to successfully organize huge sports events. However, there is some drawback that needs to take into consideration while setting up the tournament. First, a significant amount of money may be required to reconstruct the building or athlete field/court in order to efficiently support spectators, especially a big event that gain global attention such as Olympics games. Also, the government needs to give lots of effort and time to make it achievable. In conclusion, I disagree with the statement that sports events are an enormous waste. In contrast, it offers huge benefits to both individuals, businesses, and the government.