Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar.

Sugar is consumed widely. Many critics have cited that as high levels of sugar consumption cause different health issues, Foods containing sugar should become expensive. However, it seems this is not an appropriate way to reduce sugar in people’s diets. On the one hand, raising the cost of sugary foods and productions does not make consuming sugar harder for the majority of society, but for people who do not have a decent income. This might cause difficulties concerning public order since many feel they are not as valuable as others. Governments’ public trust is also damaged. It is true that more restricted access to sugar provides physical health benefits, but hardly its disadvantages are deniable. Furthermore, this kind of direct manipulation of citizens’ lifestyles might endanger people’s liberty. According to the mentioned facts, governments could start controlling their people with simple actions such as making an unhealthy eatable like sugar more expensive. Gradually, the pattern could be followed and might end in mass surveillance. It seems activities like making sugar expensive even for the public’s benefit not only do not bring any achievement for the societies buts also many severe difficulties would stem from it. It might be said that humans’ health is so crucial, and any essential policy should be considered in order to enhance it. However, imposing restrictions for damaging eatables such as sugar causes a considerable number of issues that outweigh its benefits. To conclude, it appears wise not to make sugar more expensive to reduce its use to alleviate people's health; many problems might be originated for citizens in this way. However, many have argued that drinks and food, including sugar, cause health problems thus, sugar should become expensive.