In many countries, the government prioritises economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

In some countries, a growth of economy should be considered as the first priority for the policy makers. The main benefits of this are lower unemployment rate and the development of international trade. However, the key drawbacks are unfriendly environment and unhealthy lifestyle.  It cannot be denied that to enhance the financial situation, governments need to provide more career opportunities for everyone in order to lessen the number of unemployed. They have to prevent their population from being jobless because this is a major obstacle for the development of national economy. If people have suitable jobs, they will have enough money to increase spending on things they desire which is one of the effective approaches to stimulate economic growth. Moreover, this policy improve sales's productivity especially export products. State makes a better progress in trading by reducing tax for encouraging people to run more businesses. For example, last year when the Thai government decided to broaden their international trade, there was a significant increasing rate in exported products. Nevertheless, when the state's priority is economy, their policy is not concern about the effects on the environment. The development of industrial factories brings more pollution to the community. A huge amount of carbon dioxide emitted from the manufacturing plants not only destroy the earth's atmosphere but also increase temperature. In addition, people tend to face more health problems because they have to work overtime for making more money in order to support their government's policy. They have less time for exercise or relaxation. For instance, in Bangkok even though an average amount of income is higher, people are suffering from being stressed. In conclusion, putting economic growth as the first priority not only decrease the number of unemployed but also expanding the national trade. Nonetheless, this endangers the environment and destroy people's work life balance.