More and more people tend to watch foreign movies, so the local government should encourage the development of local film industry. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is admitted that foreign films have become more popular in our society. I completely agree with the idea that the local film industry is essential for the local community and it should be developed by the local government. To begin with, many people seem to prefer to watch foreign films rather than local films, because these films tend to have better promotion and quality. For example, those movies invested by large foreign companies tend to be more attractive to local people. Furthermore, international movies appear to have subtitles and translation for many countries, whereas local films rarely provide different language options. This causes the vicious circle that local movies become niche and international movies become more popular and profitable. As a result, local tradition and culture appear to disappear gradually. From my perspective, the local government should give support to local movies financially. First of all, local films not only represent a particular culture but also have the potential of promoting the unique local culture to a wide range of people, which would be an extremely useful material of cultural preservation and sometimes could serve as an introduction to foreigners. Also, films about local lives are easy for youngsters to understand the meanings behind the movies and learn a great deal of knowledge in terms of local history. This could help young people form a relationship with the locale and thus it is beneficial to city development. In conclusion, I understand why people are likely to watch foreign movies, but it seems to me it is more helpful to develop the local film industry in order to protect the local culture.