With a growing world population, one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?,

In the past two decades one of the major issue that humanity is facing is the inability to produce enough food for the growing world population. Therefor many are suggesting that to solve this problem genetically modified food should be introduced. In this essay I will be discussing why I believe that this approach could help in food shortage problem that the world in facing but it will not solve it. To begin with, the cardinal reason why I disagree with this notion is the fact that genetically modified food pose serious health issue to human and the environment. Studies have showed that the food -related issues have increased in the past 10 years within children from age 3 to 7 due to the popularity of genetically engineered food. Moreover, genetically modified crops are believed to be dangerous and deadly to them which affect the balance of our ecosystem. Furthermore, it cause unwanted residual effects and can remain in the soil for extended period of time which may cause damage to the agriculture sector. Another major issue that comes with genetically engineered food is that the production of this kind of food will be dominated by few powerful biotechnology companies. However. We cannot ignore the benefit that genetically modify food has brought to us, most importantly is the fact we are able to produce more food, therefore, this has helped alleviate the hunger problem that the world is facing, in addition to that crops are more resistant to disease and less pesticides are used and last but no least the food can be given a better flavor and texture. To sum up, although genetically modify food may help to reduce the problem of hunger by producing more product in a cheap fast way. This trend may lead to major consequence that will affect our health and environment.