Modern technology, such as personal computers and the Internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead f going to an office every day. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advancement in technology has hugely impacted our world positively, one of which would be the ability to work remotely. This essay will be discussing the benefits and drawbacks of working from home and cite relevant examples. Ownership of private computers and the internet have become increasingly popular in the last decade and have proved to be very beneficial. One major advantage of owning a personal computer is that individuals can work from the comfort of their homes, thereby eliminating the need to commute to work. Getting up every morning for work can be very tiring, in addition to the hassle of transportation which is fast becoming stressful because of the traffic jam and a large number of people all trying to find space on the same train, bus or tram. Working from home enables a person to wake up at a convenient time and start work immediately if they desire with the difficulties in transportation completely abated. Furthermore, it also reduces air pollution. For instance, attending to one's job from the house significantly reduces the usage of cars that emits dangerous substances that are harmful to health. On the other hand, distraction and loneliness are the main drawbacks to working remotely. The office environment provides the opportunity to interact with colleagues, have lunch together and socialize. This human relationship removes loneliness which cannot be achieved through working from the house. For example, recent studies have shown that there has been a surge in the level of depression around the world due to the fact that people are now carrying out their work -related duties from home and interacting less. Additionally, there is also the tendency to be more distracted at home than in the office. While in the house, things like laundry, child care just to mention a few are all sources of distraction and decreases ones capacity to achieve the set goal of the day. In conclusion, while modern technology has presented individuals around the world with great opportunities such as working from home, this also has its downside,I believe a balance would be more profitable.