It is believed that secondary school children should study international news as one of their school subjects. Others think that this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

I tend to be in favour of the standpoint that the domestic and overseas news should pass as a course for secondary school students. This is partly because the international situation is changing constantly in various domains, and it is necessary for them to empower to comprehend and analyse the intrinsic relations, regardless of how much time would be “squandered”. The main concern for the public who demur the argument is about the waste of time that negatively affects the students’ study. Admittedly, students in secondary school should focus more on making headway in the academic subjects, like mathematics, literature, science etc. whereas the capability they formulate the blueprint in terms of the world would be a blessing for them in the future, even though the cultivation of which might take up some time. Indeed, despite the cherished school time that aims to shore up the fundamental knowledge and expand the additional ones, studying international news is not at odds with it at all, which implies that this is not squandering juveniles’ study time but is of a conspicuous advantage for them. While unduly focusing on the news might incur an adverse repercussion on fully comprehending the compulsory knowledge, rationally recognizing the current world situation could be instrumental in future development. The secondary school students are confronted with the stage of life that demand building up their own world views and the new course with respect to global news might be of significant benefit to it. This means that de-emphasizing the function of recognizing the international configuration for the adolescents would trigger a cascade of issues in terms of values and concepts. Therefore, I hold that for juveniles in secondary school, adding a brand-new course about international news could have broader horizons with respect to the world and schedule more suitable for the future, counteracting the consequence ascribed to the “squander” of study time.