Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been much discussion revolving around the issue of whether under British and Australian acts a jury in a criminal case should get access to information about the defendant's past criminal record or not. Personally, I am in favour of the latter view. In this essay, I will explain why under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case should get right to check the information about the past criminal document before they reach their decision about the case. To begin with, there are several factors that show past data plays an important role in the criminal case. First and foremost, individuals previous social activities can help in determining the major facts about the criminal cases. Secondly, getting connection to their activities on social media not only help courtroom to justify their statement but also help them in resolving the issue according to the facts. For example, In a recent survey of BBC nearly one- third of individuals are behind prison without doing any crime under false circumstances as their lawyers were not able to track clue about them. In addition, lawyers should get entry to information about the defendant's past criminal file because it will help them to set an example globally that people should not do crime and only criminals will be put behind the bars. Moreover, Juveniles before doing any crime will think twice that if they are caught their records will be in front of everyone globally. For instance, One of my colleagues in 2020 was thinking of doing data breaching from an IT company but later he realised if he would be caught he will be behind the bars with full information of what he has done in an organisation which will impact him and his family. In conclusion, details play a vital role in an individual case. Therefore, in my,opinion lawyers should get access to information about the defendant's past criminal document in order to reach their decision more transparently.