Some people think books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extend do you agree?

Many believe the key role of books for the purpose of gaining knowledge and leisure has reduced. This essay will argue why books are becoming less important these days. It is obvious that people read fewer books than they used to do due to various reasons. First, technology has been improving rapidly, and people all around the world have unlimited access to the internet, which provides a wide range of information and data. Consequently, if people want to gain data, they will browse the internet and observe the information immediately and with no charge, and they are not rely-on costly books. For example, people used to go to the library and look for a specific piece of information which was time-consuming. However, nowadays, they can search the internet from the comfort of their house. Second, the number of TV channels has been increasing more and more these days, and they are providing plenty of entertaining programmes including sitcoms and talent shows, which attract the majority of people to spend a great deal of time watching television. As a result, books can not compete with the appeal of videos and TV shows. For instance, children have the tendency to spend their leisure time watching TV as these programmes are prepared and managed creatively to attract more people. Moreover, they targeted children to deeply influence them and persuade them to spend more hours watching them. In conclusion, this essay argued that it is completely agreed that books are becoming less important in terms of data and leisure due to different factors such as unlimited access to the internet and attractive and addictive TV shows.