Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people think it is a good idea for secondary school students to learn international news as a common subject, while others say it is a waste of time at school. In my opinion, I agree with the latter idea and this essay will discuss both viewpoints in detail. On the one hand, many people believe that international news has many benefits for pupils. Watching the news in daily life help students gain more knowledge. Hence, children could get familiar with other aspects of life and the things in a different nation. Moreover, learners have more understanding about a particular country, which is beneficial for those intending to choose any foreign place for higher education. For example, through the daily news, a student will know more about the laws, the culture, or the present situation in the nation that he or she take option as an ideal place to live and study. On the other hand, it is widely thought that international news is of no benefit and becomes a burden to school children. In fact, the current curriculum is already overloaded. Therefore, if we add on a new subject, it could be stressful for students and cause depression in them. In addition, some international issues are not suitable for school children and bring about the negative effect for them. Studies by the EFE News Agency, for instance, showed that headlines about natural disasters or wars are negative and often left a bad impact on young minds because of logic and thought. Also, unworthy and incorrect news sources often provide untruth and false information to people, especially youngsters. In conclusion, adapting international news as a subject is an advantage but students should not be put under much pressure and make mistakes in listening to false things. Thus, I am strongly in favor of maintaining the current curriculum.