Holding international games such as Olympic Games is an exciting event. Some people think that it has positive effects while other argue that it is waste of money. Discuss both sides of view and give your own opinion.

There are numerous striking international competitions around the world that are held on a regular basis. A group of individuals present the view that these events have positive effects, whereas others believe the sizable amount of money that is spent could be used more effectively. I strongly agree with the former opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that nations always have been interested in showing which are the best and it has caused many wars in their history. They believe these modern global games are a modern peaceful way of the contests. In addition, these events cause people to be more familiar with other cultures. Moreover, since these sports matches are really exciting, adults and children are more inclined to become physically active and live a healthy life. On the other hand, another group of people claim that we are facing countless individuals who are prone to poverty around the world. Consequently, they do not find it necessary that these games are held and believe this sizable amount of money should be spent on struggling with poverty foremost. They insist, since some of these phenomena, such as Olympic, are profitable from an economic standpoint, governments are interested in holding them. However, I do not find this argument convincing as the deprived countries are also taking part in the games and it makes their residents proud of their nation. In addition, there are numerous charitable sports events that their profits are allocated to these countries. To conclude, it is my view that holding international games is advantageous because of their positive effects on countries’ peaceful relationships and healthier lifestyle. Moreover, the individuals who are living in deprived countries could also benefit from the economic profits of the events.