Some cities create housing for their growing population by providing taller buildings. Other cities create housing by building on wider areas of land. Which solution is better?

With such an ever-growing society, accommodation plays a pivotal role in the residents’ living conditions. Nevertheless, there is an interminable argument between providing vertical and horizontal buildings. From my perspective, the benefits of constructing taller blocks are outweighed by those of building wider areas of land. As observed, one of the advantages of building a high building structures is able to decrease the accommodation pressure. Due to the considerable rise of the population, it is difficult for the government to confront the challenges. Fortunately, vertical household buildings seem to be an appropriate alternative solution to solve the problems. There is evidence subscribing to this theory that the Chinese government subsidize funding for the citizens living in an apartment. Nevertheless, the major drawback of this issue is to pose a threat to environmental pollution such as air, water and sound pollution. By contrast, the vast disadvantage of building horizontal houses is a wide range of natural ecosystems demolished because of expanding spaces for buildings. However, society can reap the benefits of having wider areas of land. First of all, the traffic congestion will be absolutely avoided because of the sparse population diversity. Moreover, providing fewer tall buildings can improve the environment statement such as fresh air and various flora in the city which leads to development in citizens’ living conditions. According to the national newspaper, Monaco, one of the wealthiest cities in the world, the local authorities apply policies in constructing horizontal buildings for the residents. In conclusion, it is evident that vertical buildings can solve accommodation pressure for residents while horizontal buildings can enhance the long-term environment and living conditions. From my point of view, building on wider areas of land extremely overshadow providing high blocks.