People prefer to watch foreign films rather than locally produced ones. Why do you think this happens? Should the government support local film makers financially?

In this day and age, more contemporary attention has been placed on the popularity of imported films than domestic ones. In this essay, I will discuss the roots of the trend, and I believe that it is advisable for the government to allocate financial resources for local film industries. It is believed that there are many causes leading to the prevalence of foreign films compared with locally-produced movies. One of the main reasons is because of viewers’ curiosity about exotic cultures. To illustrate the point, I would like to mention that movies can be considered as a reflection of lifestyles and customs, so it can be more intriguing and fascinating to have an understanding of new cultures through foreign movies. In addition, the fact that imported films have become more popular may also result from better cinema effects. For example, compared with Vietnamese film industries, Hollywood ones seem to implement high visual images or 3D effects and perfect soundtracks which can enhance viewers’ watching experiences. However, I myself believe that it is of vital importance for governments to invest more in locally-produced films on account of some reasons below. First of all, films are believed to be a means of conveying educational and cultural values. In fact, young people often choose watching movies as a popular recreational activity, so integrating cultural features or humanity messages can instil their sense of patriotism, national pride and also positive attitudes. Furthermore, locally-produced films can be an effective and attractive way to introduce the culture and history of a nation at the international level through film festivals. Secondly, the film industry is likely to be a potential field, and investments from the government can create opportunities for talented amateur film producers, making high-quality products as well as providing a wider range of choices for citizens. In conclusion, the preference of viewers for imported movies over domestic ones can be attributed to the curiosity about new cultures and better film quality. However, I am in favour of the view that local filmmakers should be financially supported by the authorities since the benefits in terms of spreading valuable messages and boosting the development of the film industry.