Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Information abounds in many fields such as scientific research, business and the academic world. Some believe that information from these fields should be made readily available to all, whereas others believe that such essential information should be held back from the masses. I strongly agree with the former school of thought. This essay will discuss the two views and zoom into why the former view holds true. Firstly, the world of scientific research, business and academia have so much to offer. A lot of studies are undertaken in these fields and new outcomes are available with each passing day. Some people therefore believe that it only makes sense that once acquired, information from these fields should be disseminated to the masses in order to improve their quality of life. On the other hand, others believe that some information should be the preserve of the experts that belong to the stated fields. This is because their careers are based solely on this specialized information and their relevance would be lost if they let out some vital secrets of the trade. In my view, the former argument is stronger. In today's world, it is very easy for anyone to log onto the internet to retrieve information on any topic at all. It would therefore be an arduous yet fruitless task to try and hide some seemingly valuable information from the general public. It may seem as though an expert's relevance may be lost in that case, but this could not be further from the truth. There are very few people who can be the jack of all trades and master of them all. People may be privy to the deepest secrets of these fields but they would still need the input of an expert to fully comprehend the content they have been gifted with. For example, there is a plethora of knowledge on researches on diseases and their remedies on the internet such that one would expect to see few to no patients in any hospital. However, the hospital is always buzzing with clients as knowledge on the subject matter is never equal to expertise. Moreover, no matter how well educated any parent is, it is a rare case to see them educate their children to the highest level of education without help from the academic world. In conclusion, though there may be fears that sharing vital information in one's field may render experts irrelevant, these fears are unfounded as many individuals still require the understanding of experts of the fields of scientific research, business and academia. Without them, the data obtained from whichever source may just be gibberish to the layman.