5. Some people believe that reading stories from e book better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this contemporary world, the children are exposed to all kinds of technologies like TV, computers and use of such gadgets are inevitable. Some individuals argue that it is far more beneficial for children to read from an electronic gadget rather than spending hours in front of the television or personal computers. This essay will argue that electronic books are no better replacement for computers or television. Parents are always being wary of screen time their child spend on watching cartoons or playing video games and try to compensate it with electronic books. Firstly, reading e- books gives parents a sense of surety that the child is not wasting his/ her time on useless activities. In addition, there are possibilities that the child might come across explicit contents while browsing on computers or TV. For instance, for children who gets addicted with gaming or cartoons find little or no time to study their lessons and the contents of digital books can easily be controlled by guardians. These few instances have bolstered the parents’ faith on e-reader and gives assurance to them that the child is getting some knowledge Even though electronic books look lucrative to some but the health risks associated with it cannot be neglected, the idea that they are harmless are completely preposterous. Not only the persistent exposure to the gadget screen for hours may cause health issue in children but also, cause them to become addicted and becomes less social in future. A recent report in a newspaper article suggested that the 60 percent of children who engage in electronic devices are much likely to develop myopia. Overall the usage of technologies by children has detrimental effect on child ’s health and social development. This essay argued that guardians who prefers electronic reader have flawed understanding of modern day gadgets and underestimate the negative effects they cause. In my opinion, parents should discourage the usage of any kind of electronic gadgets by their young offspring.