Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of self-employed?

At the present time, many employees decide to quit their jobs in corporations and create their own startup businesses. This essay explains that the decision of becoming self-employed allows workers to be more flexible in managing their works; nevertheless, there are some difficulties associated with initial investments and how to attract customers. Some people believe that working as a freelancer is a flexible job. Thus, employees can control their own daily agenda and they might save a lot of time from commuting. Consequently, they not only have more time to take care of their well-being and their family but also can invest in various hobbies that they like. For example, working in Hochiminh city requires a worker 2 hours of commuting daily, so after working in a freelance job, he can invest the 2 hours in a fitness class that helps him to be more healthy. On the other hand, working as a self-employed worker may require a lot of investment. Firstly, in order to open a business, a person needs to spend money on tools, offices and hiring that can be a great barrier preventing them from establishing a business. Secondly, gaining customers and making profits are the ultimate outcomes of having a business; as a result, a business owner has to study and understand his business from the inside out to ensure that a customer can receive the best services and products. For instance, in order to be successful in running a coffee shop, an owner has to take a class to learn about different types of coffee and business management, so he may know how to make the tastiest beverage for the local residents. In conclusion, self-employees have more time to invest in their wellbeing and their family; however, in order to be successful, they need to have initial investments and spend efforts to learn the businesses and their customers.