Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Speaking in a foreign language has been usually problematic for people living in foreign countries. It causes a vast number of issues for both immigrants and the local community. I agree with this that language barriers can be known as a reason for social problems. This essay will explain some of them. First of all, a vast number of immigrants move to other countries in search of better job opportunities. They would find it difficult to communicate with folk living in the country of destination and, in return, they would be unable to make money even for a living. As a result, their lives will be harder if they cannot talk the local language well. To illustrate this, Secondly and more importantly, the believes and the culture of the new country is of paramount importance. It is more likely that immigrants do not understand some cultural things. In this regard, misunderstanding would be the second issue that people may face. Due to this fact, they are exposed to have conflict. A friend, for instance, has applied to a well-known Canadian University. He admitted that he had a wide range of problems with his classmates and roommates which are rooted in differences between their cultures. He wishes he could speak English as well as he could. To sum up, nevertheless, living in other countries might have some advantages, it can be problematic. Getting familiar with the new culture and finding a good profession are some of the matters and I do believe that the problems are not confined to these and they should be addressed.