In the past, lectures were the traditional method of teaching large numbers of students in a classroom. Nowadays new technology is increasingly being used to teach students. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this new approach in teaching?

It is certainly the case that because of technological innovations, the way that lectures are delivered has changed significantly. In the past, courses only can be taught face-to-face, whereas technologies bring more possibilities about how can the knowledge be spread. In the following essay, I will analyse both the positive and negative effects that new technologies caused on education. It is undoubtfully that new invents, such as communication applications, visual conference software, and online learning platforms benefit education in different aspects. Firstly, by distant learning, students can attend the course in different educational institutes located in different countries. For example, on Coursera, one of the most well-known educational platforms, students can attend the lectures given by top-ranking universities, like Havard University. Secondly, compared with traditional learning methods which always required people to have related academic backgrounds, most of the courses delivered online do not have such rules. Thirdly, unlike traditional courses, online courses provide a more flexible learning schedule, which can be arranged by learners. Take Uwant, one of the most popular online learning websites in Taiwan for example, students can make their own learning plan, and attend courses whenever they want. Despite numerous advantages new teaching approaches have brought, disadvantages caused by the approaches should also be considered. Because most online courses do not provide compulsory assignments or exams, how much students can learn from courses depends on their self-regulation. Therefore, the effects of the distant-learning are uncertain. Moreover, unlike students learning in the classroom, online learning students cannot ask questions when they feel confused in the course. The worst thing is that even though students describe their questions via e-mails, lecturers do not give any reply. In conclusion, new learning methods developed from new technologies do improve our learning environment by providing a variety of courses and a more flexible learning schedule; however, the efficiency of new measures should also need to take into concern.