In the future it is expected that the proportion of older people will be higher than that of young people in many developed countries. Is this a positive or negative development?

Population ageing is a forecasted trend in many industrialized nations, which has long been a perplexing issue of huge public attention. This essay would attempt to highlight the pros and cons of this population growth pattern and argue in favour of the latter one. On the one hand, the escalation in the elderly population as compared to the younger one may be beneficial for society. The most noticeable one is that the future population may become more experienced and knowledgeable. Considered as a living treasure of knowledge, the older people undeniably have accumulated more experience than the younger ones, enabling them to make wiser decisions when encountering problems in life. They can also be able to offer invaluable pieces of advice to youngsters. For instance, retired professionals can still act as advisors to the companies and institutions in their profession so as to pass on their knowledge to the next generations. On the other hand, population ageing can exert a handful of repercussions on social development, which may eclipse the benefits of this trend. The most noticeable one is the heavier burdens placed on the national welfare system if life spans are widened. The longer the life expectancy, the larger amount of pension payments and subsidies have to be made by insurance companies and the government, deteriorating their budgets. Thus, fewer public investments can be allocated to other essential societal aspects such as healthcare, infrastructure or economic development. Moreover, the dip in the young population can trigger a drain in the national labour force as there are fewer people in the working ages. The lack of staff can detrimentally impact business productivity, causing a hindrance to socio-economic growth. In conclusion, the increased proportion of the elderly as compared to that of young people may exert both positive and adverse impacts on society with side effects taking the dominance.