Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measure can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

Most people would agree that car ownership has boosted in recent years and is causing a range of problems, particularly in built-up areas. I think there are a number of ways that governments can aim to deal with this. In my opinion, many big cities in the world have traffic problems, but these problems vary. For instance, it is reasonably easy to drive around my city after 10 am and before 5 pm. However, outside these hours, you have to allow double the usual time to reach your destination. In other cities, traffic may be congested at all times and there can be the continual sound of car horns as people try to get wherever they want to go. On one hand, I think one of the best approaches that governments can take in busy cities is to encourage the use of public transport. This means the transport facilities have to be well run, and people must also be able to afford them. Buses, trams and trains are good ways of getting around, and if they are cheap and reliable, people will use them. On the other hand, another approach is to discourage people from actually entering the city by building car parks and shopping centres on the outskirts. Many cities have done this quite successfully and even offered the passengers bus transport into the centre. At peak travel periods, governments can also run campaigns to encourage people to be less dependent on their cars. Apparently, a lot of car trips involve very short journeys to, say, the supermarket or local school. These are often unnecessary, but we automatically get in our cars without thinking. To sum up, we all have a responsibility to look after our cities. Governments can do a lot to improve the situation, and part of what they do should involve encouraging individuals to consider alternatives to driving.