Cam 14 - Test 4 Nowadays, many people choose to be self-employed rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Working has played a vital role in a person's life. Nowadays, a growing number of people tend to have their own business in that different reasons. Without a doubt, there are several disadvantages to being self-employed. This essay will explain the causes and the possible drawbacks of this matter. As a matter of fact, running own business has a wide range of reasons. First of all, one important thing could be about the time. In fact, by being self-employed, people can manage their time in favour of what they want. They may suppose that having a nine-to-five job can be tedious and frustrating. They should be stuck behind the desk the whole day if they work for somebody else as an employee. Secondly and more importantly, money is highly essential for everybody. Indeed, some people do not have enough good opportunity and motivation so as to get a raise or promotion in working in other companies. In return, they are more likely to earn more money if they work for themselves. Despite the possible advantages that being self-employed has, it might have disadvantages as well. For instance, people may face various issues for running their businesses. Firstly, they need to have strong leadership skills. Running their own business is not easy and they need to obtain qualifications or hold a degree in management or MBA if they want to be successful in their career. Another possible drawback would be that a sizeable amount of money is needed in many cases in order to launch a business. Therefore, they may get a loan from a bank, and if they fail in this way, they will go bankrupt. To sum up, time management and gaining more money would be the reasons to choose to be self-employed. In addition, being knowledgeable and knowing how to spend money or earn money is essential.