Although many people value their public parks, this space could be better used for other purposes such as residential areas for the ever growing population or to develop business and boost economies. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

The population of the world has been increasing, leading to the demand for housing in the era of ongoing globalization. Numerous people suggest that public parks downtown should be converted to business or residential areas. I completely disagree with this standpoint. To begin with, green spaces in cities play a vital role in maintaining people’s health. For example, trees absorb carbon dioxide and other chemicals; as a result, they provide better air quality for city dwellers in urban gardens. Therefore, this improvement can be crucial for those who are suffering from breathing disorders because of air pollution. Furthermore, the playground is an ideal place for the local residents to exercise and stay fit. For instance, regular exercise helps people to build strong bodies, boost their immune systems, and protect them from diseases. Moreover, gardens areas make municipalities more visually appealing. If the downtown was only filled with skyscrapers, residential housing and business districts, people’s lives would be tedious; whereas the trees and flowers can make their lives more colourful and bring communities closer to nature. Finally, I would argue that building accommodations and business centres in the parks is not a satisfactory option. In my opinion, the better solution is that the government should start building more industrial estate and residential land in the outskirts instead of already crowded downtown areas. This would not merely provide more employment opportunities in suburbs and boost economic growth but also relieve air pollution and traffic problems in cities. In conclusion, I passionately believe that public parks in the cities should be reserved as it is beneficial to both citizens and civic landscapes. Hopefully, the authorities will pay more attention and raise people's awareness in terms of its tremendous value.