There are severe social consequences to housing shortages in cities and only the government can solve these problems.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often thought that the shortage of the supply for housing in the cities is affecting the communities drastically, and the government is the only player that can handle these issues. I completely agree with this narrative, as it has all the tools to solve this kind of problem. Firstly, there are various reasons why the government could solve the housing's conundrum is that it has the ability to construct policies through regulating and deregulating. Furthermore, governments could control the supply of housing by giving them permission to investors who have the resources to develop such land. Not to mention, governments have the tool of deregulation which can increase the capacity of housing through the free zone's bill. For instance, most of the countries have an area called the free zone, and in the free zone,free-zone a developer can build a complex without the need to pay for the tax. I strongly believe that government can solve the problem of housing easily. The reason for this is that it has all the financial tools that could balance the real estate market. Moreover, the government can increase the supply by offering incentives and subsidies for real estate's developers. Singapore, for example, has issued a law that would decrease the tax to half for any developer who could build the vertical buildings. To conclude, in my opinion, I strongly believe that governments can solve the shortage of housing conundrum because they have all the tools, resources, and manpower. This is to say, that is the core player in solving this problem.