Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional or religious festivals; during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The meaning of locally traditional festivals has not been remembered by some of those who desired to only participate and enjoy themselves during this time. In my opinion, I do not agree that most people ignore what traditional events mean because they are taught by teachers and families; however, there are some counterviewpoints to consider about the enjoyment of people these days. Both arguments along with my perspective linked to this topic will be outlined in the following paragraphs. There is one argument put forward against the forgettable meaning of local events. Recent years have witnessed an increase in the number of people who have not known how important festivals are. It is undeniable that they just joined these fantastic ones for fun. Most of them still not only behave incorrectly but also ignore some step-by-step processes of a holiday period; hence, the meaning is slowed disappeared. In ‘Songkran day’ in Thailand, for example, hardly any people show respect to their grandparents, they only enjoy the activities that make them delighted. There are, however, a host of arguments in favour of those who remember the history of festivals. Almost all schools included the history subject in their curriculums. There is a universal consensus that adults such as teachers and parents pass their own knowledge of the importance of festival’s stories to the new generation. By doing this, students little by little understand the true historical background, perhaps showing that all of the knowledge still exists. An outstanding example of this seems to be the understanding of children in ‘Songkran day’. Even though many people loved to play in shooting water in this day, most people truly understand the meaning of each day. To sum up, despite some only enjoying during holiday seasons, I am of the opinion that almost all people still acknowledge the festival background by the encouragement of elderly.