Some think increasing business and cultural contact between nations is positive. Others think it leads to the disappearance of the national identity. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Globalization has been around for thousands of years. It goes back to the silk road area, but in recent years it has become more popular due to the advancement of technology and transportation. Therefore, some are arguing that this phenomenon has brought more detrimental effects than advantages. In this essay I will be discussing both views and why I believe that globalization pros outweigh its cons. To begin with, the major advantage that globalization has given us is access to new cultures. globalization made it easier than ever to access foreign cultures including food, music, art. For instance, at the comfort of my house I can eat chinese food, stream a bollywood movie, and listen to my favorite UK based band. Moreover, globalization has allowed companies to find low cost ways to produce their products. This has increased global competition which drove prices down and created a large variety of choices for consumers. As a result, lower cost has helped individuals in both developed and developing countries to live better on less money. furthermore, this has improved the standard of living in developing nations. According to the WORLD BANK extreme poverty has declined by 35% worldwide since 1990 and this is mainly because of the increased exchange between countries and migration which created many job opportunities. However, we can not ignore that globalization has many drawbacks. The most obvious one is the loss of cultural identity. The uniqueness and the success of certain cultures has led to many countries and societies to emulate them. As a result many nations begin to lose distinctive traditional features. In addition to that globalization has affected many countries ' local economies. More and more people tend to purchase international clothes and goods rather than buying local ones. Therefore, this has led to economic stagnation. In conclusion, globalization has its own pros and cons, but when we look at how globalization made our lives more convenient and how it contributed to the economic evolution of many nations we can say that indeed globalization's advantages outweigh its disadvantages.