Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people,however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Issues related to sustainable development have been discussed these days. There are some countries where the economy is of the utmost importance whereas others believe that different types of progress should be given the same amount of concern. In this essay, I will try to shed some light on both views before proposing my viewpoint. On the one hand, in developing countries particularly, the authorities engage with businesses to create legislation making the economy become the top priority. As a matter of fact, monetary profit can be fundamental to improve every aspect of life, including improving public facilities and vital projects that boost the power of the country and the majority of the population. An illustration is given by Vietnam in which the government identified economic development as the number one target, has accomplished some financial achievement as intended recently. Nevertheless, at the same time, it can not solve either social issues or environmental problems which are detrimental to its citizens' physical and mental health. On the other hand, there is another aspect to be considered. In detail, education, in any case, should be invested the most to improve human's behaviour which results in fewer crimes, strengthen social cohesion, individual's awareness. Furthermore, during the pandemic, since people are exposed to the risk of getting infected with coronavirus, medical treatment should be more of a priority to be focused on. As well as this, the government which got the policies ensuring the optimal quality of the natives' lives will gain the incredible potential to keep growing constantly. In conclusion, it seems to me that all criteria assist the nation to progress properly regardless of some negative and positive impacts. On balance, the authorities should take action on every strategy carefully and equally to guarantee the inhabitants' benefits.