The world should have only one government rather than a national government for each country.Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There have been suggestions that the world should be under the rule of a single government rather than being ruled by regional governments. Although benefits that would result from this good idea, I am convinced that there are much more drawbacks compared with benefits. On the one hand, in an international world, many serious problems that all nations currently struggle with, such as climate change or the outbreak of Covid-19, could be solved. To be precise, a single government could set up strict legislation and force all citizens to get vaccinated against Covid-19. Also, if pollution legislation were to be maintained at a world level, the rules would be equally applicable everywhere. As a result, many pollution problems will be no longer possible. On the other hand, when the world comes under one umbrella, it also brings about troubles. Firstly, federalism can create oppositional competition. Because each community can create its own set of laws and rules in a system of federalism then the structure can create unwanted competition for resources. For example, the government might offer a significant tax break to a company that encourages them to place offices in one location and not another. Secondly, federalism is an expensive system of government since a lot of money is spent to maintain the central government and all of its component units. Thus, it is often said that only rich countries can afford it, which leads to the gap between rich and poor states widening. In conclusion, a single government for the entire planet could help resolve global issues but this trend also causes many serious conflicts which are hard to find immediate solutions.