Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The recent years have witnessed the popularity of open co-working spaces in the offices, which was more than that of individual’s rooms. Although there are some benefits that should not be overlooked, I still believe that the disadvantages are more significant. Admittedly, there are various benefits linked to having open-space styles in the workplace. The most important one is that the higher collaboration of each employee in the jobs. Due to the less distraction among the working tables, almost all workers probably see their associated coworkers when they have to contact for any issues, leading to the easy conversation or meeting to alleviate the problem of each worker. A common example of this is that if the junior workers are stuck in their works, they tend to look around their senior ones to get suggestions of their works. Another advantage is the optimization of the space. Without a doubt, the open-space designs used less area than their own rooms. If, for example, the total area of the place is 100 square meters, the open space may support around 50 people to work, while the individual room might be able to accommodate only 25 people. However, such benefits pale into insignificance when the following drawbacks are taken into account. First and foremost, the most relevant detrimental aspect is the less privacy of officers. This is because there are no rooms to do what they intend to do. If they are still not in their own space to relax, they are more likely to increase the stress which results in a drop in productivity. One example of this is that most people have to separate other people to keep their clam from the busiest work; if they can feel comfortable in their work, they tend to work in the higher productivity. Another unfavourable point is the distracted concentration of the assignments. The consequence of no separate rooms is the reduction to focus on the works, resulting in not only the low quality of the works but also the unfinished assignments. To conclude, although there are many beneficial sides to making the offices in the open-space styles, I am of the opinion that the detrimental sides outweigh them. Were people to work in that way, there is more likely that they will have less productivity and more defect in their works.