The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

In this modern era, English has become the globally acceptable and most spoken language, due to advancement of tourism. Some people claim that, this may result in English becoming the only language conversed worldwide. However, there are several merits and demerits in English being the global language. On the one hand, As English being the single spoken language, it would make the global communication easier thereby connecting people across the world. In addition, it will create more job opportunities. People would be able to travel across the world as the language barrier will be taken over, while English becoming the single language. For instance, people from non- english speaking nations can travel to English speaking nations such as U.S, Britain and can grab jobs there. Also, companies can expand their business internationally which could build up the economy by strengthening the finances. Nevertheless, having the above benefits of a common language, there are certain disadvantages for this system such as diminishing the culture and tradition and loss of linguistic diversity as the local languages will be unknown for the newer generations. Also, it may cause decline in tourism sector as people will no more be interested in learning about the culture and traditions. For example, India being a country with different local languages spoken all over, replacement to a single language can demolish the folklore and tribunal culture of India. Hence, reducing the diversity and hindering the growth of tourism. In conclusion, English may replace several tongues. However, despite having the above said merits it may destroy the local and folk culture.