Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money, since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

The rapid rise of technology has entirely changed our reading habits. It is believed by many that investing in the maintenance of public libraries is a waste of resources as most functionalities are available in modern computers and therefore, could easily replace these places. I agree that the latest computer technologies provide numerous benefits that can enhance the reading experience; however, the environment provided in a library cannot be replaced by any technology. Developments in computer technology have provided enhanced features that enable users to read without stepping out to a library. These devices are generally supported with the ability to sort their books and store large amounts of soft copies of their favourite magazines, books or journals for future reading. Certain apps such as Adobe reader available in these devices not only allow customized reading settings to suit readers' needs but also enable them to study at the comfort of their homes without the need to travel. Most readers, therefore, prefer reading on their own electronic gadgets. Although these devices play a significant role in providing improved functions, a library provides a suitable environment for reading. Books in most reading areas are well organized in various categories and are much convenient for people to find them according to their taste, thus, allowing book enthusiasts to read and study any preferred subject in a calm and silent room without any disturbances from the outside world. People who want to avoid continuous exposure to electronic gadgets and the internet for instance could conveniently use this place. Without any doubt, libraries will remain an integral part of book enthusiasts and government should continue maintaining them for the public. In conclusion, I agree that computer technologies facilitate users with modern features including large storage and customized settings, but investing in libraries will not go to waste as they provide a convenient reading environment for readers away from gadgets.