Some People Think That It Is A Waste Of Time For High School Students To Study Literature To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that learning literature is not necessary for high school students. I completely agree with this point of view, as I believe that there are many other relevant subjects for high school students and literature should be taught in early childhood. First of all, it is obvious that other courses are much more important in high school life than literature, as most students want to pursue further education in universities which require insightful knowledge in Mathematics, Biology, Physics and English and some prefer to enter vocational education which does not require any knowledge related to literature as well. For example, a student who wants to become a Doctor probably will not use literature in his or her life for any reason but leisure time. Moreover, learning literature is a time-consuming activity, thus the learners do not get enough time to focus on their desired path. Hence, spending time on learning novels or poems may deviate students from their goal for higher education. Furthermore, literature should be taught at young ages. In other words, kindergarten students can be introduced to novels little by little, which may be more effective than teaching in high school because children can fully absorb the content and gradually develop understanding without being forced. Once they have acquired an interest in literature, it can be much easier for them to learn a high level of literature. Additionally, novels and poems can help children develop creativity and communication skills and expand their range of vocabulary. A number of surveys demonstrate children growing with books have better academic performance. Therefore, it is better to teach literature to children at an early age. In summary, high school students should not study literature since other subjects are far more important to their future. Instead, teaching in kindergarten can be more effective.