Some people think that schools should select students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities studying together. Discuss both views and state your own opinion.

Dividing pupils into classes by abilities is a hot potato more often than not during the entire period of school. I believe this is an issue to be dealt with carefully in terms of students ’ emotions and education. Efficiency is considered as the most important factor by people who insist picking out students according to their academic abilities is necessary. If a school doesn’t divide its students by abilities, talented ones must feel bored and have complaints about the progress of the course. It is also inevitable that students with low grades feel picky when they follow the school lecture. Moreover, the teachers will also go through various sufferings to set the level of difficulty of class for students if it’s not allowed to divide classes according to their abilities. In other words, the teachers can focus on their followers easily and the students would be able to enjoy the pleasure of studying efficiently in their classes which are determined by their talents. In contrast, some people are worried about making a division into several classes by students abilities because of their emotional problems. It is hard to deny that teenagers are sensitive about their scores and also what they look like to people around them. If a school decides to divide classes into those who are talented and those who are not, the students who are at a low level can be daunted and even affected by the ‘stigma effect’ which means people who are in poor groups socially remain poorly if others define them badly. Plus, the students can expect a ‘mentor-mentee’ system if the school allows the students with different abilities to study together. In other words, feeling cooperation and solidarity among the students is as important as efficiency for people who asserts the students of various levels should be in one class. In conclusion, I believe that it is better to decide whether to divide classes by students abilities or not depending on the timing and the direction that the school pursues at that time. Also, it will be ideal if the students ’ opinions are reflected a lot when this issue comes up.