Childhood obesity is a serious problem in many countries. What are the causes of This and how can the problem be managed?

In many nations, child obesity is becoming a major health problem. This is due to the increase in the consumption of Junk food and living a sedentary life. Children increasing weight can be controlled by encouraging them to eat homecooked food and engaging them in outdoor sports. To begin with, overweight issues are tremendously increasing among the young generation. The major factors include eating unhealthy diets, which are full of carbohydrates and fats. These children consume more calories than required and hence it gets deposited in their bodies in form of various fat deposition. Additionally, another cause of overweight that contributes to a large extent is their sedentary lifestyle as children in the current time spend hours in front of computers and television to watch cartoons and play videogames. Therefore, their metabolic rate becomes low and eventually leads to various health issues such as heart and sugar diseases. For example, in western countries, schools organise health programs to bring awareness among youth on healthy eating habits. In order to control growing overweight problems among young generations, the government should strongly encourage school authorities to run free health awareness services and campaigns. Parents should equally participate and strictly follow the given diet plans for their kids. Communities and neighbourhoods should establish sports clubs and hold competitions for local area people. As a result, the young generation gets motivated to participate in physical activities that help them to stay active and healthy. Moreover, health clubs must share nutritious diet plans and quick healthy food recipes so that working parents get benefit from such efforts. For instance, there are some schools in India where students are given a well-balanced diet for lunch to reduce the consumption of junk food. To conclude, child obesity is tremendously increasing due to unhealthy eating habits and it can be reduced by bringing awareness among youth and parents about a balanced diet and the importance of physical activities in their daily routine.