In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, many companies focus on promoting their goods that are new in their marketing. The major factors contributing to this are that emphasising the product as a brand new one can often raise the price and buying desires. This essay will discuss the detailed reason behind this and why I consider this might be detrimental to our society. Many would agree that products that have new functions can be usually sold for a better price. Therefore, businesses make a great effort to show the new points of their goods in order to obtain more profits. In the cosmetic industry, it is very common to see that advertisements emphasize the products have a new color or different design so that they can raise the price. However, this may bring negative effects since it pushes people to spend more money on the same things and those who have lower incomes are less likely to buy the products with better quality. There is no denying that humans are often fascinated by new things like clothes, jewelry, and electrical devices. Goods that have new functions are usually the top choices for many populace. Thus, it is believed that promoting products that are new is the best selling point for many companies. Take Apple as an example, every conference for selling the new Apple things focuses on describing the new functions of their devices and it arises Apple fans’ buying desire successfully. Despite this marketing strategy having great benefits on profits, it may reinforce the trend of over-consumerism and leads to negative results in our society. In recent years, many have witnessed the rising trend of promoting goods as a brand new one. Although this campaign is good for raising the price and triggering the buying desire, its negative influence might deprive some groups of people’s choice and arise more problems due to over-consumerism.