The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The media has had a huge impact on the public especially since the invention of television. There is recently a contentious argument whether broadcasting more negative incidents rather than positive events has detrimental effects on citizens and their communities. I partially concur with this notion as there are both advantages and drawbacks in reporting more negative news. It is undoubted that letting residents know what problems are happening in their society is crucial because this can increase their awareness of the problems that they have to pay more attention to. To illustrate, reporting car accidents that happened in the day and explaining their causes can help people realise what they have to be careful of when driving a car. Also, knowing possible car defects or human errors which may threaten drivers' lives potentially encourage car owners to have regular car inspections or to undertake safe drive. This awareness could be overlooked if the media is more focusing on pleasant news. On the other hand, it is also evident that the number of reports of bad news influences the public negatively. There is a good example that occurred two years ago and is still ongoing, which is COVID-19; the pandemic of highly infectious virus attacked our society and we were in serious danger. Fortunately, the vaccines to fight against the virus have been invented and people had begun to take those vaccines. However, the media put a spotlight on its side effects that are basically mild and only a few vaccine receivers (mostly older people or persons with comorbidities) are affected. As a result, citizens are frightened and became hesitant to take the vaccination. This further threatened our society by not reducing the chance of another pandemic. In conclusion, as discussed above, focusing more on issues that are subtle to the public is not beneficial although residents can have some benefits from these reports. Therefore, the media should carefully balance out the amount of positive and negative information.