many people like to eat unhealthy food even though they know it is bad for them. why? what are the effective ways to improve people's eating habits?

People, regardless of their social class, crave unhealthy foods containing excessive sugar, fat and salt mainly because they look enticing and taste delicious, which therefore triggers the release of certain pleasure-inducing chemicals inside their bodies. There are some reasons for this trend and several solutions will be given in the following essay. Our race is programmed to consume more than what is needed to survive in primitive ages, when our ancestors were unable to have such easy access to the wide variety of food items we encounter nowadays, and this genetic make-up descended from prehistoric human beings encourages today's urban residents to devour the foods in plates mercilessly. Another factor to consider is the mood. When people are under stress, a common mental state in the workplace and at school, junk food seems to be a favourable choice in which happiness and relief are prioritized. There are several approaches that may alter our food choice in a healthier direction. Governments should adopt policies promoting healthier eating habits by producing suggestions, tips and specific plans for free for those willing to adopt changes. Also, the ban of advertising of unhealthy foods should be introduced as these promotions are quite appealing and keep customers reminded of their existence. In comparison, vegetables and freshly cooked meals are relatively more expensive and time-consuming whereas modern inhabitants are generally tight either in budget or private time. Thus, in order to help them eat healthy foods, the production of vegetables should be accelerated to bring down the prices.