Task 2: Many countries import a large amount of food from other parts of the world. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is a controversial perspective heating a debate over the ever-growing food importation from foreign exporters in many countries. Although this phenomenon has both possible pros and cons, personally, I think the redeeming features still outweigh their counterparts. On the one hand, a great volume of imported food brings about certain benefits for the potential customer. Obviously, the features of climate and soil in different realms definitely decide the suitable fruits to be planted there, which can prevent the residents from using other kinds of fruits. Therefore, the fruits trade among distinct nations can offer the purchasers various choices with an eclectic mix of fruits ranging from tropical categories to temperate ones. Moreover, with the development of the present living standard, more and more people want to experience the culinary or favourably-produced food from other countries to satisfy their meals, such as the high-quality Kobe meats of Japan. Hence, the importation of those commodities can effectively meet the demands of the customers. On the other hand, food importation can act as a disturbance to the environment. It is such a common norm that transporting those merchandise among distant areas requires a wealth of huge and fast-moving vehicles such as airplane and ships to keep the freshness when it comes to the market. Those means of transport, however, burn a great volume of fossil fuel with unexpected results such as releasing a wave of greenhouse gas emissions or leaking oil in the ocean. In doing so, the environment quality, especially the air and water, can be adversely impaired. To sum up, although the food importation overseas can stand the aspirant purchasers a good stead of consuming various kinds of food, the negative impacts on the environment still lingers because of the toxic waste from transport vehicles.