Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others, however, believe that the problems cannot be solved if individuals do not take some action. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Are environmental problems so big that individuals cannot make any contributions to resolving them? The answer is absolutely “No”. Instead, the issues cannot be addressed without individuals ’ joint efforts. Admittedly, it is justifiable for some to advocate that individuals can do little, since solving environmental problems, as a global issue, requires nations, organisations, companies, and individuals to get involved. Compared with average people, who can merely persuade others to follow the rules and norms, the governing authority possesses the legislative power to enact strict laws, issue corresponding policies, and effectively enforce them in order to safeguard the environment. For example, heavy fines can deter both institutions and individuals to behave properly. In comparison, individuals are not empowered to require others to do so. However, what average people do cannot be ignored. As a matter of fact, only when average citizens take certain actions will the effects brought by laws and rules be maximised. To illustrate, even though heavy fines can serve as a deterrent, people may comply with the minimum environmental requirements set out by law owing to either the absence of a sense of responsibility as being qualified planet-mates or the failure to compromise with their convenient lives which are partly based on the sacrifice of natural resources. In this case, the aforementioned laws and rules cannot be as effectual as expected. For example, charging for vehicle taxes may reduce the usage of private cars to some extent, while big differences can be made if the owners leave their cars in the garage voluntarily. In a nutshell, though the government have greater capability in coping with environmental problems by enacting relevant laws and rules, they are not as effective as expected without endeavours of individual citizens.