Many students choose to take a gap year before starting university, to travel or gain work experience.

Do you think this is a good idea or a waste of time? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. In Asia, the majority of students start their degrees in the same year as finishing school or college. In western countries, students might take a year out before starting university. There are, from my perspective, two principal reasons why taking a gap year would be a good idea. Students might know better what major they exactly want to study. From 1968, people have to take 9- year compulsory education in Taiwan, which means all students will learn basic knowledge and study the same subjects such as mandarin, mathematics, or society. After finishing school, students will face the problem — which territory should they choose? Some students probably follow the way whose parents decide. Other students might feel confused about what kind of area of study should they select or will be suitable. Of course, it also depends on what score they got. However, in this situation, how if they select to take a year out before starting university? It would be a great idea to take a gap year to travel or gain work experience. Without pressure from school, students might enjoy their journey more, meet different people, experience different lifestyles or cultures. These feelings and experiences would inspire them to consider their future deeply and will make clear in discovering what kind of territory they want to gain more knowledge. Moreover, students will not waste time in the area of study in which they are not interested. Before starting university, people can find a job which they are interested in and gain some work experience. If they found out that is not suitable, they would still have chance and time to look for another area of job. These experiences will support them to choose more ideal and suitable areas of study for them. Overall, life is short, and taking a gap year benefits students to define their future. If the year is planned carefully, it will not be wasted.