some young people are leaving the countryside to live in cities and towns, leaving only old people in the countryside. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent times, it is increasingly becoming popular for some young people to migrate to urban regions,thereby, leaving the countryside mainly dominated by the elderly. I believe this trend cannot categorically be said to be positive or negative because it can be associated with both and this essay will explain my perspective in detail. Migration has been going on for centuries but recently there has been an influx of especially youngsters to the cities. The principal reason for this is in the search for better opportunities. The majority of businesses, firms and industries are located in the urban region and are constantly advertising for workers with the promise of a higher income, hence, attracting many individuals. While the countryside has some facilities and companies located in the area, the wages being offered is usually not as substantial as that of those in town. For example, a hospital in the village pays its workers 50 pounds per hour, probably due to the small number of residents located in the region,whereas, the same job in the city pays twice as much. On the other hand, while these young ones are leaving, the older people are left behind with no one to cater to their needs which is a drawback associated with migration. Once people get older their bodies deteriorate and as such require some assistance with day-to-day activities like mowing lawns as well as personal care which were carried out initially by their children or grandchildren, therefore, causing sadness and depression. Additionally, the movement to big cities also causes the countryside to remain undeveloped because most of the individuals who have the strength and expertise to develop these areas have all relocated. In summary, the countryside is gradually losing its young individuals to the big cities mainly due to better opportunities that are available in those places. Although it is a positive trend, there is also the drawback of leaving the villages undeveloped and the old people lonely. I believe that a balance should be struck so that no aspect suffer loss.