Some policymakers have the notion that the economic progress is the most important measure to be taken for development of a country. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a belief amongst some policymakers that the most crucial measure to be taken for the development of a country is economic progress. I completely disagree with this notion, and I think that economic progress is not the most important matter for developing a country. If economic advancement becomes the most important measure taken for developing a country, achieving this goal may cause harm to nature. According to policy, The Establishment aspires the country would to become more industrialized so that the country could benefit the most, and it is clear that in order to make the most profit, business owners use more resources. For instance, if a country is a petroleum exporter, it will consume more energy and resources to make more petroleum products available to be exported, and in turn the more such products are exported, the more prosperous the country can become. Nonetheless, we might put the environment at risk. Furthermore, aiming at high efficiency and maximizing the financial benefits could give rise to other environmental concerns; thus besides the economic growth, other measures should be taken into consideration; otherwise, after some time, the economy can slow down. Moreover, by putting economic progress above all objectives the employers and business owners may become slave drivers. It is clear that working more and reducing the expenses are some of the prerequisites of increasing the benefits; thus the employers may attempt to exploit their workforce by decreasing the wages and at the same time increasing the workload. Even though in the short-term, profits might soar, and the total economic climate of a country could improve, in the long run, the employees would lose motivation to work; hence they will not spend their best effort to increase their output which is why it will not be a beneficial policy to solely advance the economic situation. All things considered, I strongly believe that economic advancement should be one of the priorities of the governments; nevertheless, other measures are equally important so that a country could prosper.