Some people believe that technology has made man more social. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Experts throughout both the developing and developed world have debated with the advent of sophisticated modern technology, which enhances and improve people's social lives. I strongly advocate the former view. This essay will discuss both sides and will discuss them in upcoming paragraphs. The central reason behind this is twofold, Firstly, the invention of online social media sites and apps, such as Twitter and Facebook have reduced crucial face-to-face interactions dramatically. Through the use of these appealing and attractive mediums, people feel in touch and connected yet lack key social skills and the ability to communicate. Secondly, dependence on such devices is built up frighteningly easily which may have a damaging effect on mental health and encourage a sedentary lifestyle. For example, recent scientific research by the UK government demonstrated that 90% of people in their 30s spend over 20 hours per week on Messenger and similar applications to chat with their friends instead of meeting up and spending quality time together or doing sport. As a result, it is conclusively clear that these technological advancements have decreased and diminished our real-life interactions. On the other hand although there are significant downsides to technological developments, its’ multifold advantages cannot be denied. To explicate, there is large popularity of technology such as cellphones allows people to connect freely and easily with no geographical barriers. Nonetheless, People can share any type of news, information, photos and opinions with their loved ones whenever and wherever they want therefore keeping a feeling of proximity and closeness. For example, an extensive study by Oxford University illustrated that people who work, or study abroad and use applications like Facetime and WhatsApp to chat with their families, are less likely to experience loneliness and feel out of the loop than those who do not. Consistent with this line of thinking is that businessmen are also undoubtedly able to benefit from these advances by holding virtual real-time meetings using Skype which may increase the chance of closing business deals without the need to fly. To conclude,I firmly believe that overall communication and mans’ sociability has been advanced enormously due to huge the huge technological progress of the past twenty years and despite some potentially serious health implications which governments should not fail to address, it is predicted that its popularity will continue to flourish in the future.