Many manufactured food and drink products contain high level off sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Many of processed foods or drinks contain a high levels of sugar which are dangerous for public health. Therefore, these type of products should be more expensive to prevent people from buying. I disagree with the statement because it isn't a sustainable method for encouraging people in consuming less sugar. I believe adding sugar tax without increasing a selling price and enforcing companies in taking care of public health are a better way. To begin with, tax should be kept on products that contain a high dose of sugar. This will force manufactures to produce quality foods, otherwise, they will receive less profit. Moreover, producing healthy products is the responsibility of manufactures, whereas raising a selling price implies that the responsibility is pushed to consumers. For example, a high sugar soft drink in a market is more expensive. Perhaps, a company will gain more profit because people are already addicted to sugar while the soft drink gains more margin. On the other hand, if the government keeps tax from the company, they will lose their profit and will need to find an alternative way to sell soft drinks. In the best case, they might create some food innovation such as sugar -free products. In addition, manufacturers that produce unhealthy products should pay society back. Everyone needs to take responsibility for their actions include the manufactures. If they create a negative effect (provide unhealthy food) on society, they need to take some action to cover a public loss. For instance, many alcohol companies support sport academies to encourage people to exercise. The companies damage the health, so they cover by encourage people to do healthy activities. To summarise, raising the price of a high level sugar products isn't an effective way to make people consume less sugar. Keeping a sugar tax and forcing the companies to do CRS is a better way. These two strategies will prevent any profit from unhealthy products and it will encourage the producers to do good activities for the public. I believe this is a sustainable way.